Spine Anatomy

spine anatomy medical illustration
The vertebral column consists of 33 vertebrae. There are 7 cervical, 12 thoracic and 5 lumbar. The sacrum is formed by 5 fused vertebrae and the coccyx by 4 fused vertebrae. The first cervical vertebrae is called the Atlas and the second the Axis. In between each vertebrae is a fibrocartilaginous intervertebral disc.